CLO E-mail Alerts

2013 Julia Deberson Award

2013 Julia Deberson Award Winner
  Max Clayton and Executive Producer
Van Kaplan

Pittsburgh CLO proudly presented the 14th-annual Julia Deberson Award to CLO Ensemble member Max Clayton on Friday, June 21, at the cast party for Pittsburgh CLO’s production of Kopit & Yeston's Phantom.

The Julia Deberson Award was established to commemorate the memory of Julia Deberson, who served as Executive Assistant to CLO Executive Directors William Thurnhurst and Charles Gray from 1975 to 1994. Every season, the directors and production staff meet to choose one outstanding Ensemble member who best exemplifies Ms. Deberson’s ideals: professional skill, high work ethic, an optimistic attitude, the ability to work well with others and, above all, a passion for one’s work.

Mr. Clayton joins the impressive list of past Julia Deberson Award winners, including Kara Mikula (2012), Joe Jackson (2011), Ahmad Simmons (2010), Kathryn Lin Terza (2009), Ward Billeisen (2008), Jake Pfarr (2007), Alison Levenberg (2006), Lauren Yen Solito (2005), Eric Daniel Santagata (2004), Mark Sanders (2003), Jessica Perrizo (2002), Tory Ross (2001) and Justin Brill (2000). This prestigious award is funded by contributions from the CLO Board and Guild members, as well as staff members and friends. These funds are invested as a part of the CLO Legacy Fund endowment. Anyone who knew Julia or respects the ideals for which she stood may also contribute to the fund. For more information, contact Wynne Fedele at 412-281-3973 or